Spinal Tap & Spinal Patch
9:53 AM - February 09, 2005

Nurses can be big jerks. The nurses I had a PCMC (primary childrens) were always nice and loving. But when I was admitted to different hospitals because I had infections and to far away from PCMC those where we found the jerkos.

Did Amber get a portacath or anything like that. I had one so they didn't have to start IV's all the time. It is a small metal thing? that they put right underneath your skin on your upper chest. Coming from the metal disc was tubing leading to a major vein. So then the chemo would be pumped into that instead going through my arm veins.

I hope she's doing okay. Does she get chemo through spinal taps also? If she ever gets a spinal tap and then her muscles start freezing on her and she can't move that well, have her go back in the hospital for a spinal patch. Sometimes if you have alot of spinal taps the area gets weak and the needle sometimes penatrates farther than it should. It then causes your muscles to freak out but don't worry its not bad its just that they need to go back in and patch it with some blood.
I had this happen to me once and it hurt alot but we had no idea why it was happening. It started after I got released and was home for about 2 days. After about 6 hours of my muscles freezing and cramping up where I couldn't even stand up my mom called an ambulance. I remember thinking that was really cool and asked the ambulance driver if we could drive by my middle school. But when we got to the hospital they gave me some steroids and went in and put the blood patch in. And within a couple of hours I was fine. So its no big deal but it caused us a scare. I guess if women can also have the same thing happen if they get an epidural during labor.


-Shellie

then || now


current archives
cast rings profile
email notes book aim fans design host

.

.