Advancing
8:35 PM - January 25, 2005

A-

I'm so glad to meet you and to read your diary. Reading your diary brought so many memories back and I hope what little insight/advice/thoughts I have will help in some way.

Amber has a similar cancer to what I had. I was diagnosed with k-1 non-hodgekins lymphoma.

In october 93 I felt some "pea sized" type lumps on the right side of my neck. I didn't tell anyone because I didn't think it was a big deal (I was also only 13) So then in Jan 94 they had swollen so much that my neck looked very similar to Amber's. I went down and visited my Gpa who was an MD and he was like "You need to get this girl in ASAP" in three days I was down at Primary Children's Medical Center for so many tests that I can't even count.

I would really recommend to Amber to have her hair cut as short as possible before it falls out. I had really long blonde hair (it grew back brown) and they cut it chin length but still when it fell out it was a mess and depressing because I looked like a freak with long pieces and bald spots.

I think a really important thing also is if/when Amber has extended stays in a hospital for Chemo treatments is to bring a box of stuff that is hers... like a lamp, a cozy blanket, a teddy bear, some videos. If she has cravings for anything try to get it to her. I HATED hospital food. It was so sick and I'd throw up just smelling the hospital food out in the hall.

When I had cravings for anything my mom or nurse would try to get it to me because they never knew when I'd want to eat next. Even if she doesn't want to eat have her sip on ensure's or something. I went down to like 70 lbs and being at my full heigth of 5'7 that wasn't a good thing.

Things are going to get scary. Really scary at times. Probably not as bad for Amber because people will really help her out and give her lots of love and encouragement. But for you as a sister and for your family it will be hard at times.

I think what I want anyone who has to go trough any type of ordeal like this is to first always remember our Father in Heaven. He'll always be there for you, your family, and especially Amber. You'll have rough times thats for sure... but in my life the biggest blessing I've ever had is being first a fighter and now a survivor. Its not just a disease that makes you sick. It tests you not just to your physical limits, but your emotional as well. It changes forever how you look at life and how you want to live your life.

I think the best advice I received was:

"Don't ask why... simply ask why not."

If you ever need to talk and have a listening ear Coerdoux and I are hear for you. BTW coerdoux is a cancer survivor too!

Sincerly-Shellie


then || now


current archives
cast rings profile
email notes book aim fans design host

.

.