"The Exercise"
8:38 AM - November 16, 2004

Heres an assignment for you since you both aren't going to school!

Its from my book "Writing Exercises for Fiction Writers"

One section is about keeping journals so I thought I'd give you an exercise from it.

"The Exercise"
Write one page a day. Concentrate on observation and description, not feeling. For example, if you receive a letter, the ordinary reaction is to write in the diary, "I received a letter that made me happy" (or sad) Instead, describe the size of the envelope, the quality of the paper, what the stamps looke like.

"The Objective"
To enhance your powers of observation and description without having to juggle the demands of characterization and plot.

Anyway I'd thought it would be fun to do for an entry. To mix things up!

then || now


current archives
cast rings profile
email notes book aim fans design host

.

.